Home Research Databases Biography

Please have your library card handy. Your card number is your "Passport" to a world of information.

Biography

The African American Experience

(For remote access click here)

 

The African American Experience (AAE) is a full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of African Americans, as well as the greater Black Diaspora.  Wide-ranging and easy-to-use, AAE is the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field. Its two primary goals: to provide rock-solid information from authorities in the field, and to allow African Americans to speak for themselves through a wealth of primary sources. Drawing on over 400 volumes, and designed under the guidance of leading librarians of color, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day.

 

Biography In Context

biography_in_context

"Biography Resource Center is your one-stop, authoritative resource for biographies on notable figures in literature, science, history, government, business, art, gender and multicultural studies, religion, entertainment, sports and much more.  Biography Resource Center contains more than 450,000 biographies on more than 380,000 people. Content is gathered from more than 1,000 volumes of 135 award-winning Gale reference sources. The reference content is complemented by full-text articles from hundreds of magazines specifically chosen for their value to biographical research."

 

Latino American Experience

(For remote access click here)

 

"The Latino American Experience (LAE) is a full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of U.S. Latinos.  Wide-ranging and easy to use, LAE is the first-ever full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. Its content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos."

 

Pop Culture Universe

(For remote access click here)

 

"Pop Culture Universe (PCU) is an authoritative, yet irresistible, digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present—in a package as dynamic as the topic it covers.  Built on hundreds of award-winning titles for all levels of researchers, PCU provides a safe haven for investigating topics that appeal to students—without the bias, advertising, suggestive content, or questionable authorship of commercial or fan sites.  Combining the best of traditional scholarship with the convenience of Web technology and the fun inherent in the subject, PCU advances the study of pop culture and pop history, promotes information literacy, integrates a subject of universal appeal into the classrooms of high schools and colleges, and enriches the school and public libraries that support them.