Please have your library card handy. Your card number is your "Passport" to a world of information.

History

The African American Experience

(For remote access click here)

 

The African American Experience (AAE) is a full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of African Americans, as well as the greater Black Diaspora.  Wide-ranging and easy-to-use, AAE is the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field. Its two primary goals: to provide rock-solid information from authorities in the field, and to allow African Americans to speak for themselves through a wealth of primary sources. Drawing on over 400 volumes, and designed under the guidance of leading librarians of color, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day.

 

America the Beautiful

America the Beautiful

"An interactive database for state-by-state history and current events for Elementary and Middle School students.  Browse the sections: US Topics, Timelines, Bulletin, Profiles, Games, and Almanac or use the search options."

 

Annals of American History Online
(for remote use click here)

Annals of American History Online

"Explore the rich and varied history of the United States with Encyclopædia Britannica's Annals of American History Online. This valuable online chronicle provides a year-by-year documentary of American thought and action. Read the original words of more than 1,500 authors who made and analyzed American history through their speeches, writings, memoirs, poems, and interviews."

 

Daily Life through History

(Remote users click here)

 

"In Daily Life through History, students and researchers discover the everyday details about past eras that make historical accounts relevant and meaningful."  Also inlcudes Daily Life in America series.

 

Ebsco A to ZEbsco A to Z

EBSCO A-to-Z® is the most complete Web-based tool for organizing and providing links to all of our library’s electrnoc resources, including e-journals, titles in full-text databases and e-journal packages, and e-books. A-to-Z offers users a “one-stop” search of our library’s e-collection, with easy navigation to full-text content.

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library

"Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of eBook reference titles.  With its continuously growing list of content and publishers, Gale Virtual Reference Library offers hundreds of titles that libraries can add to their collections as desired. The diversity of subjects that can be covered by available titles includes Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environmental Studies, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation & World, Religion, Science and Social Sciences. In addition to titles available from Gale, you can also access content from other publishers, including Wiley, Sage, Cambridge and the xreferplus collection."

 

Pop Culture Universe

(For remote access click here)

 

"Pop Culture Universe (PCU) is an authoritative, yet irresistible, digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present—in a package as dynamic as the topic it covers.  Built on hundreds of award-winning titles for all levels of researchers, PCU provides a safe haven for investigating topics that appeal to students—without the bias, advertising, suggestive content, or questionable authorship of commercial or fan sites.  Combining the best of traditional scholarship with the convenience of Web technology and the fun inherent in the subject, PCU advances the study of pop culture and pop history, promotes information literacy, integrates a subject of universal appeal into the classrooms of high schools and colleges, and enriches the school and public libraries that support them.

 

History_stacked_logo

Salem History   

Includes many of Salem's diverse library of biography, history and primary source documents including:

The American Decades: The 1920’s through the 1990’s

Great Lives in History: The Ancient World; the 19th Century and Notorious Lives.

Great Events from History: The Ancient World; The Middle Ages; Renaissance and Early Modern Era (1454-1600); The 19th Century and GLBT Events.