Home Research Databases Newspapers

Please have your library card handy. Your card number is your "Passport" to a world of information.

Newspapers

Black Newspapers

"ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts.  Examine major movements from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights, and explore everyday life as written in the Chicago Defender, The Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Los Angeles Sentinel, Atlanta Daily World, The Norfolk Journal and Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, and Cleveland Call and Post."

 

Financial Times

(Use advanced search with "Financial Times" under publication name.)

"The Financial Times, one of the world’s leading business news organisations, is recognised internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy. Providing extensive news, comment and analysis, the newspaper is printed at 23 print sites across the globe, has a daily circulation of 390,203 (ABC figures February 2010) and a readership of 1.3 million people worldwide."

 

Infotrac Newsstand

Infotrac Newsstand

"This is an Infotrac database, which includes nearly 100 U.S. national, regional and local newspapers and more than 60 English language foreign newspapers.  It also includes Knight-Ridder Tribune News Service and Business News Wire. Full-text articles back to 1996."

 

 

LexisNexis LibraryExpress

(For remote access click here)

Access over 10,000 news, business and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep back files and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news and foreign-language sources. Use the LexisNexis® Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria.

LexisNexis Library Express contains information from a wide variety of sources:

 

National Newspaper Index Subscribers

National Newspaper Index

"This database is an Infotrac product that offers indexing and abstracts only, no full-text for five major national newspapers; the New York Times, including the New York Times Book Review and the New York Times Magazine, the Christian Science Monitor, the Los Angeles Times, the Wall Street Journal and the Washington Post."

 

National Newspapers Premier

National Newspapers Premier

"ProQuest National Newspaper packages provide your library with online access to the most respected national and regional newspapers from across the U.S.  The titles in ProQuest National Newspapers offer researchers thorough coverage of local, national, and international events with journalistic balance and perspective; together ProQuest National Newspapers provides a comprehensive package to retrieve important articles, and research events over time and from different perspectives."

 

Newsday

"Long Island news and events available from 1985 to present."


Newsday

 

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

"ProQuest Historical Newspapers -the definitive digital archive-offers full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century.  As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ program, every tissue of each title includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format."

 

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times

ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times

"Digitizing The New York Times, from the first issue in 1851, involved scanning, digitizing, zoning and editing over 3.4 million pages from microfilm into digital files.  The full collection of ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ contains over 25 million digitized pages."