Home Research Databases Student Resources

Please have your library card handy. Your card number is your "Passport" to a world of information.

Student Resources

The African American Experience

(For remote access click here)

 

The African American Experience (AAE) is a full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of African Americans, as well as the greater Black Diaspora.  Wide-ranging and easy-to-use, AAE is the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field. Its two primary goals: to provide rock-solid information from authorities in the field, and to allow African Americans to speak for themselves through a wealth of primary sources. Drawing on over 400 volumes, and designed under the guidance of leading librarians of color, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day.

 

Annals of American History Online
(for remote use click here)

Annals of American History Online

"Explore the rich and varied history of the United States with Encyclopædia Britannica's Annals of American History Online. This valuable online chronicle provides a year-by-year documentary of American thought and action. Read the original words of more than 1,500 authors who made and analyzed American history through their speeches, writings, memoirs, poems, and interviews."

 

CountryWatch

Country Watch

"CountryWatch provides up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world.  The Country Reviews section provides a political and economic survey for each of the countries of the world. Coverage of every country in the world is updated continuously on the Web.  The Country Wire section is an on-line information update from ten respected international news organizations, as well as periodic data updates from the CountryWatch.com staff which provides the latest political, economic, corporate, and environmental news on a country by country basis as it occurs."

 

Culture GramsCulture Grams

(Remote users click here)

 

"Cultural reports for more than 200 countries each include 25 categories such as land and climate, history, personal appearance, greetings, gestures, family, diet, holidays, economy, education, health, and events and trends. Also includes a look at the diversity and history of each U.S. State and the District of Columbia, reports on all 13 Canadian provinces and territories, a Recipe collection and a Famous People Index.

 

Daily Life through History

(Remote users click here)

 

"In Daily Life through History, students and researchers discover the everyday details about past eras that make historical accounts relevant and meaningful."  Also inlcudes Daily Life in America series.

 

EbscoHost Databases  Ehost

A doorway to a "Host" of databases including Primary Search with more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research; Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia; GreenFILE which offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment; History Reference Center offering full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books; and the W.H. Wilson databases.
 

For Students

For Students

"This series is designed specifically to meet the curricular needs of high school and undergraduate college students studying literature."

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library

"Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of eBook reference titles.  With its continuously growing list of content and publishers, Gale Virtual Reference Library offers hundreds of titles that libraries can add to their collections as desired. The diversity of subjects that can be covered by available titles includes Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environmental Studies, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation & World, Religion, Science and Social Sciences. In addition to titles available from Gale, you can also access content from other publishers, including Wiley, Sage, Cambridge and the xreferplus collection."

 

Grolier Kids

Grolier KidsAn authoritative, age-appropriate research and learning resource. Includes two learning environments, eight curriculum-aligned databases and over 500,000 links to academically-relevant articles, Web sites and periodicals.  Grolier Online also includes extensive media resources including photographs, videos and interactive maps to engage students and reinforce learning.

 

Grolier Online

Grolier Online

From the site description:
"Grolier Online is a one-stop resource for online encyclopedias and reference resources. You may be familiar with the print versions of these resources: Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, The New Book of Popular Science, and Lands and Peoples and La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre, a Spanish language encyclopedia. All the Grolier’s resources provide citations, so you can cite them in your research paper."  For in-library access click here.

 

Infotrac Junior & Kids Edition

Infotrac Junior Edition - K12

"Designed for junior high and middle school students, InfoTrac Junior Edition features full-text titles that support school curriculum, including major magazines, newspapers and reference works. Students will gain 24/7 access to the detailed information they need for homework assignments and general reference questions. With unlimited access from school, home or even the coffee shop, InfoTrac Junior Edition empowers students with the information they need in a wide range of subject areas."

 

Kids InfoBits

Kids Infobits

"Kids InfoBits is Gale's exciting database designed especially for students in kindergarten through grade five. Complete with an engaging, developmentally appropriate graphic interface, premier reference content and the best magazines for elementary students, Kids InfoBits addresses the way kids learn and conduct research — and makes it fun!"

 

Latino American Experience

(For remote access click here)

 

"The Latino American Experience (LAE) is a full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of U.S. Latinos.  Wide-ranging and easy to use, LAE is the first-ever full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. Its content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos."

 

Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center

"Literature Resource Center is the world's most current, comprehensive and reliable online literature database. Uniquely relevant to today's curriculum, the resource's rich critical, biographical and contextual materials support interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills. Researchers will find the information they need on authors and their works, from all time periods and from around the world."

 

LitFinder

Litfinder

"Gale's core repository of full-text literature, LitFinder spans history and geography to offer nearly 150,000 poems, short stories, essays, speeches and plays representing the work of more than 80,000 authors. More than 660 nationalities are represented in this ever-growing database, which supports high school and college curriculum while offering busy students 24/7 access."

 

Live Homework Help

Live Homework Help

                         Live one-to-one help: Every day from 2:00pm to 10:00pm
.t's simple. When you need help with your homework, no matter what you're studying, you connect to a professional online tutor for as long as you need. Your tutor helps you work through your homework problems, step by step, until you're finished with your assignment. Then you move on with your life.
 

Live Librarian

Live Librarian"We have more than 5 million tutoring sessions under our belt, have thousands of tutors online 24/7, and students tell us that we've helped them get their schoolwork done, feel more confident about school, and improve their grades. If you need help factoring a polynomial at midnight, you can connect to an algebra tutor. Or, if you need help balancing a chemical equation before school, you can work with a chemistry tutor. Any subject, any time, we can help because our tutors are always available—you never need an appointment."

 

The New Book of Knowledge

The New Book of KnowledgeReference and Current Events for young students who are learning to use online resources for research. Articles are written at the elementary-grade level, along with age-appropriate illustrations, maps, photographs, flags, and feature boxes. Carefully screened Web links, periodical articles, published for children, are linked directly to the encyclopedia articles.

 

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

"Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites."

 

Pop Culture Universe

(For remote access click here)

 

"Pop Culture Universe (PCU) is an authoritative, yet irresistible, digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present—in a package as dynamic as the topic it covers.  Built on hundreds of award-winning titles for all levels of researchers, PCU provides a safe haven for investigating topics that appeal to students—without the bias, advertising, suggestive content, or questionable authorship of commercial or fan sites.  Combining the best of traditional scholarship with the convenience of Web technology and the fun inherent in the subject, PCU advances the study of pop culture and pop history, promotes information literacy, integrates a subject of universal appeal into the classrooms of high schools and colleges, and enriches the school and public libraries that support them.

 

ProQuest Research Library

ProQuest Research LibraryFrom business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. ProQuest Research Library consists of two components: a core list of periodicals; plus 15 supplemental subject-specific modules.

 

ProQuest Science Journals

Proquest Science JournalsProQuest Science Journals is a resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. These journals cover hundreds of topics relating to all major fields of study. Titles available from ProQuest Science Journals include: the Journal of Climate, The Journal of Nutrition, Journal of the Atmospheric Sciences, and Critical Reviews in Environmental Science and Technology.

 

History_stacked_logo

Salem History   

Includes many of Salem's diverse library of biography, history and primary source documents including:

The American Decades: The 1920’s through the 1990’s

Great Lives in History: The Ancient World; the 19th Century and Notorious Lives.

Great Events from History: The Ancient World; The Middle Ages; Renaissance and Early Modern Era (1454-1600); The 19th Century and GLBT Events.

 

Searchasaurus

Searchasaurus

"This useful service will help both children and their parents by enabling them to search thousands of articles, an online general encyclopedia and a ton of information about animals from around the world."

 

Student Resource Center

Student Resource CenterStudent Resource Center reaches out to today's learners with a web-like user experience. Student Resources in Context helps students develop both research and critical-thinking skills while covering the spectrum of student-focused subject matter.

 

Transparent Language Online

 

Transparent LanguageResearch based and experience-driven Transparent Language Online is an online language-learning program for libraries and their patrons that provides an effective, fun, and engaging environment for language learners of all proficiencies.

You must register and set up a user name and password to use this program.  Click here  to register.

 

UniversalClass

Universal Class
(Register Here)

Knowledge is power. So why not learn something new today? UniversalClass™ offers hundreds of FREE online classes facilitated by dedicated instructors sharing their knowledge on almost any imaginable topic including computer training, painting, meditation, GED training, nutrition and more!!  Join us today, and let's start learning together.

 

WilsonWeb
(for remote use click here)

WilsonWeb is now brought to you by Ebscohost. After clicking on the above link, click on Ebscohost Web and then scroll down to Short Story Index, Middle and Junior High Core Collection, Senior High Core Collection, Fiction Core Collection, Public Library Core Collection, Fiction Core Collection, or Children's Core Collection.